Personal tools
Log in


Mission & Advisory Board

Our Mission

The Mission of the Center for Excellence in Teaching & Learning (CETL) is to strengthen Rockland Community College's commitment to its community of learners. The Center will provide ongoing and comprehensive opportunities for the growth and development of faculty and staff in their efforts to promote successful student experiences at Rockland Community College. Towards that end, CETL will discover, share and implement best practices in higher education.

Our Vision

RCC envisions a Center that will promote and support the faculty and staff in their roles as teachers, scholars and members of the College community. The Center is grounded in the belief that ongoing professional development fosters a rich environment on campus and in the classroom and that teaching and learning occurs through contact with the College’s community members. By stimulating inquiry, generating information, diversifying the design and delivery of instruction, and creating opportunities to share ideas, information and resources, CETL seeks to create a culture of excellence and an environment for interactive teaching and learning.


CETL benefits many people on the RCC campus; please let us know your ideas.

Advisory Board

The CETL Advisory Board is chaired by Lynn Aaron. Board members include:

CETL advisory board members

  • Peter Arvanites
  • Andrew Jacobs
  • Liya Li
  • David Lucander
  • Peter Marino
  • George Repic
  • Nahed Salama
  • Kimberly Weston


CETL Planning Council

Plans for CETL were developed by the Planning Council under the leadership of the late Prof. Libby Bay during academic year 2005-2006. The original CETL Planning Council consisted of the following members:

original cetl planning council members

  • Libby Bay, Chair
  • Lynn Aaron, Website
  • Suzanne Cleary-Langley, Research
  • Liz Cohen, Nursing
  • Kathy Carroll, Student Development
  • Bruce Delfini, Evening/Weekend Adjunct Administrator
  • Wilma Frank, Humanities
  • Nicole Hanaburgh, Information and Engineering Technology
  • Jeanne Howell, Associate Director, Human Resources
  • Dr. George Krasilovsky, Science and Mathematics
  • Gina Liberti, Adjunct
  • Laurie McNeill, Grants
  • Terri Kaye Needle, Faculty Senate
  • Dr. Elaine Padilla, Social and Behavioral Science
  • Cathy Roche, Business Technology
  • Melissa L. Roy, Director of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion and Chief Diversity Officer
  • Ellen Spergel, Occupational Therapy
  • Xi Shi, Library
  • Jo-Ann Vega, Student Development


CETL Resources & Forms