Personal tools
Log in


May 2017 Achievements


Administration & Staff Assembly Employee Recognition Awards:
Joan Asch, Social & Behavioral Sciences – College & Community Service Award
Sonny Reyes, Academic Affairs – Customer Service Award
Financial Aid office staff – Extra Mile Award
Edwin Gonzalez, Bursar’s Office – Innovator Award
Debra Bouabidi, Director of Financial Aid – Leadership Award
Nancy Koester, Institutional Research & Effectiveness – President’s Award

The Creative Services Committee (now known as the Marketing Committee) won the Best of Category Award for Outdoor Signage from the SUNY Council for University Advancement (SUNYCUAD) for the Start Here, Transfer Anywhere sign in the Fieldhouse. The sign was designed by Ginny Apostolides, Graphic Designer, Campus Communications. The award is to be presented at the SUNYCUAD annual conference in Tarrytown, NY, June 7-9.

Shamika Mitchell, Assistant Professor of English, won a first-place award in the SUNY Tools of Engagement Project (TOEP) for most pedagogically intriguing use of TOEP tools. Lynn Aaron, Professor of Computer Studies, Talia Lipton, Instructor of Speech, and Eileen MacAvery Kane, Instructor of Art, all won second-place awards for best peer mentoring and support. Aaron also earned an award in the TOEP Uber Fellows category. Honorees will be recognized during the SUNY Conference on Instruction and Technology (CIT) Award Luncheon on June 1 in Oneonta, NY.


Eric Magaram, Assistant Professor of Mathematics, presented at the New York Mathematics Association of Two-Year Colleges (NYSMATYC) Annual Conference in Syracuse, NY on April 7. The title of his presentation was "Getting Started with the Math Pathways with Support from SUNY."

Joe Falco, Coordinator of the Connection Center, and Sabrina Rieder, Lecturer and Interim Chair of Social & Behavioral Sciences, presented at the Northeast Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender Conference in Binghamton, NY, on April 29 on dating apps, websites, internalized homophobia and safety.


Kathleen Babcock, Instructor/Academic Fieldwork Coordinator in the Occupational Therapy Assistant Program, earned her Master of Science in Adult, Occupational and Continuing Education from Kansas State University.


The following RCC faculty and staff participated in the American Heart Association Tri-County Heart Walk on May 7 at Lake Welch Beach in Harriman State Park: Saeed Safaie, Professor of Science; Jeanette Geller, Associate Professor, Cyber Security; Peter Arvanites, Professor of Mathematics; James Salvadon, Professor of Mathematics; Maureen Brown, Associate Professor Counselor; Joe Planck, Coordinator of Academic Intervention; and Nilda Aragones, Professor, Counseling. The group raised more than $2,100 for the AHA.

Student & Alumni Achievements

Pat Carey ’96, head coach of the Iona College baseball team, was named Metro-Atlantic Conference (MAAC) Coach of the Year. Carey led the Gaels to their first berth in the MAAC championships since 2000. After playing baseball for two years at RCC, Carey also began his coaching career here, serving three years as an assistant and two years as head coach for the Hawks.

Betzy Zuniga Garcia ’17, president of RCC’s chapter of the National Scholar Collegiate Society (NSCS) and a Sam Draper Honors College student, earned the chapter’s annual Outstanding Scholar Award and accompanying $250 scholarship.

Engy Sabra was named Student Worker of the Year by Student Career Services. Sabra worked for two years in the office of the Sam Draper Honors Program.

Madison Knarich was selected as RCC’s recipient of the Westchester Chemical Society's Outstanding Freshman Chemistry Student award. She received the award at a banquet on May 2.

Kinsley Alexandre won the 2017 Henry V. Larom Award for Fiction for his story “Prologue,” and Cassandra Alfred earned the Larom Award for Poetry for her poem “Muted Color.” Each student received a $100 prize and their winning entries are to be published in the next issue of Impulse magazine.

Winners at the 10th Annual RCC-TV Video Festival
1st Place: Ken Felici & Mary Rink, "#NotMyPresident: A People's History of Inauguration Weekend 2017"
2nd Place: Annelise Andre, "September Song"
3rd Place: Moyuru Shiroma, "Space"

Alumni winners:
1st Place: Anthony J. Milio '09, "Renegade"
2nd Place: Joey Katz '11, "Right to Win – Coming Home"
3rd Place: Tyler Silver ’12, "Personal Cloud"

Shannon Thomas is a recipient of the 2016-17 SUNY Scholar Athlete Award, recognizing outstanding academic excellence and athletic success. Thomas starred for RCC’s volleyball team, winning conference MVP honors, while also excelling in the classroom. She is one of just 77 winners statewide of this honor.

The RCC men’s tennis team claimed its second consecutive Region XV title, an impressive feat especially since this year’s squad was entirely new. The Hawks, led by coach Joseph Gravagna, advanced to the NJCAA Division III national championships, held in Plano, TX, May 15-19, where they finished fifth. Jose Felipe Robles Lopez earned second-team All-American honors after a runner-up finish in the second singles flight.

Five RCC students achieved Recommended Pass ratings during Skills Proficiency Tests in Stage Combat, as adjudicated by former Society of American Fight Directors President and Fight Master J. David Brimmer. The students are:

Eric Lartigue – Broadsword & Shield, Knife
Ryan McNeill – Broadsword & Shield, Knife
Brandon Ali – Knife
Gabriella Maralisi – Knife
Adrianna Aponte – Knife